Digital Citizenship

When I first saw the term digital citizenship I honestly had no idea what it meant! The Sheninger book did a good job of defining it but I wanted to explore additional resources to help me better understand it’s meaning and importance to me as an educator.

I found a great article in Edutopia that cut right to the information I really need to know. What do my students need to know about digital citizenship? Answering this key question with specific content will allow me to be a better teacher and as an administrator I would be able to be more concrete with my staff about what they need to know in order to encourage good digital citizenship in their students.

The article I read was written by Vicki Davis and was titled, “What Your Students Really Need To Know About Digital Citizenship”.

http://www.edutopia.org/blog/digital-citizenship-need-to-know-vicki-davis

The author did a great job of detailing the “9P’s” of digital citicenship. These nine P’s are taught through “proactive knowledge” and “experiential knowledge”. She instructs the students proactively about each and then allows them to learn more about each through practical experience.

The pillars all revolve around identifying and practicing professional and appropriate behavior online. I love how she was able to allow the students to become teachers and do lessons in how to identify malware and scams. This was a great idea!

Besides the information on the 9P’s Davis also discussed the merit of student collaboration in learning. She mentioned a concept called “flattening the classroom” which I had never heard of. I found a great video which explains some basic ideas involved in flattening the classroom. The basic concept is using technology to break down walls and connect with other students around the world. The video below explains one example of the flat classroom model.

 

This article will definitely influence me as a future Principal because it very simply and clearly addressed the basic characteristics of acceptable online behavior for students and adults. We are currently editing our own Faculty Handbook and the information in the article caused me to take a look back at our student and faculty social media policies. There were a few points that this article actually helped us clarify.

The article actually caused me to seek additional information from our book’s author Eric Sheninger. He wrote a very interesting article that was more geared to administrators seeking to direct their adult staff on being strong digital citizens. I attached the link below.

7 Pillars Of Digital Leadership In Education

I thought point #2 was the most interesting. It centered around using the internet to “tell your story” as a school. Social media provides you with a free platform on which to do this.

Digital Citizenship is a concept the should be very heavily discussed and addressed in schools today. Discussing it is beneficial to both students and adults. It dos not say much for my school that I knew nothing about it before taking this class and reading the material I have read as a result.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

